Health and Exercise Science faculty and students in the spotlight – congratulations!

Frank Dinenno

Frank Dinenno was chosen for the Inaugural Environmental and Exercise Physiology (EEP) Impact Award for 2018.  As the award letter (which came from our own Ben Miller – who is the awards coordinator for the EEP group within the American Physiological society) states: “This award is a reflection of your impactful research and seminal discoveries made in the areas of environmental, exercise, thermal, or applied physiology. The award includes $1000, travel reimbursement to attend the 2018 meeting and Dinenno will be recognized at the 2018 EEP Awards Reception.

Congratulations to Sarah Ehrlicher from the Translational Research on Aging and Chronic disease (TRACD) lab run by Ben Miller and Karyn Hamilton for winning the American College of Sports Medicine President’s Cup poster competition! Ehrlicher represented Rocky Mountain ACSM at National ACSM and won the big prize! Title: “Upregulation of Endogenous Antioxidants but not Exogenous Antioxidant Treatment Promotes Proteostatic Maintenance.”

Barry Braun gave the Priscilla Clarkson lecture, titled “Is Exercise Really Medicine” at the national meeting of the American College of Sports Medicine in June.

Matt Carnal received a College of Health and Human Sciences “Excellence in Research and Scholarship” award at the Graduate Student Showcase.  Title: “Validation of Smartphone-based Measures of Sit-to-Stand Power” Mentor:  Brian Tracy.

Channel 7 news Denver did a story that aired in late July on the Aging work being conducted by the Translational Research on Aging and Chronic Disease lab run by Ben Miller and Karyn Hamilton.

Two HES students received recognition for their work at the CSU Celebrate Undergraduate Research and Creativity (CURC) event at the Lory Student Center on April 17th. Diego Andraca received High Honors for his poster with William Beideman, and Pashi Singh, titled: “Validation of Smartphone-Based Assessment of Sit-To-Stand Power” – Adviser: Brian Tracy.

Moriah Hanson received Honors for her poster titled: “Influence of Liposomal Vitamin C Ingestion on Heart Rate Variability Response to A High-Calorie Meal” –  Adviser: Christopher Bell.

Graduate student Rocky Mountain ACSM grants:

  • Clayton Swanson ($1000). Title: “The Associations Between Transcallosal Communication and Mobility Variability” (Brett Fling lab).
  • Felix Proessl ($1000). Title: “Effects of transcranial direct current stimulation on fatigability in people with multiple sclerosis” (Thorsten Rudroff lab).

Undergraduate student Rocky Mountain ACSM grant (note: only one of these is given out): 

  • Raj Trikha ($650). Title: “Occlusion of Non-Exercising Skeletal Muscle Improves Short-Duration Endurance Exercise Performance” (Chris Bell lab).

Tracy Nelson has two new research funded projects; One, from the Henry Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine, Inc. Titled “Evaluation of HPP Interventions to Improve Outcomes in the Human, Psychological, Social and Spiritual Domains of the POTFF Program”.  The project runs from 5/2016 to 4/2019 and is in collaboration with Lise Youngblade in HDFS.  ($231,757) The other project, from Colorado Department of Public Health and the Environment is titled “Linking Communities and Care to Reduce Chronic Disease Among At-Risk Residents in GES” and runs from 10/2016 to 7/2018.  ($45,344).

Congratulations to Crissy Chard and Kellie Walters who won a $5,000 grand prize for their nonprofit “Smart Fit Girls” in the Imagine Colorado Ideas Showcase. The competition, presented by Colorado Innovation Network and LiveWell Colorado, asked entrepreneurs to submit innovations that better connect Colorado’s youth to healthier lifestyles.

Karyn Hamilton and Ben Miller from the TRACD lab and Kelly Santangelo (CSU’s College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences) are the PI’s on a newly awarded R21 from NIH titled “Dual treatment of sarcopenia and osteoarthritis with a Nrf2 activator”. Raoul Reiser is a Co-investigator on the grant as well. In addition, Miller and Hamilton are the PI’s for a large subcontract on a 5-year grant from NIH in collaboration the University of Kentucky. The project is focused on the potential for massage to influence the regulation of skeletal muscle mass and atrophy.

Thorsten Rudroff received a $25,000 award from the Colorado Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute for his work titled: Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation to Lower Neuropathic Pain in People with Multiple Sclerosis: A Mechanistic PET Study.

The Human Performance Clinical Research Lab (HPCRL) received a competitive award ($90,000) for Programs of Research and Scholarly Excellence at CSU award from the Office of the Vice-President for Research. The award is a collaborative project between HES (Barry Braun) and the Heart Center of the Rockies (Dr. Gary Luckasen) titled “A new HPCRL/UC Health Cardiology partnership: Does too much Exercise Damage the Heart?”

The Microcirculatory Society selected Janee Terwoord and Matt Racine, from the Human Cardiovascular Physiology Laboratory, run by Frank Dinenno, as recipients of the Zweifach Student Awards at Experimental Biology 2017, a scientific meeting that took place April 22-26 in Chicago, IL. The award provided $750 and Racine and Terwood were presented with certificates at the Membership Business Meeting.

Janee Terwoord, from the Human Cardiovascular Physiology Lab overseen by Frank Dinenno, received the 2017 Environmental and Exercise Physiology Predoctoral Research Award from the American Physiological Society. The award included $500 plus registration reimbursement to the 2017 Experimental Biology meeting.