CSU’s Department of Occupational Therapy receives several recognitions and grant awards


James Graham with award plaque when being recognized as a Fellow of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine.
James Graham being recognized as a Fellow of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine

Karen Atler will be recognized as a Fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Association at the national AOTA conference next spring in Boston. She is being recognized for her work in assessing and promoting occupational experience.

James Graham for recently being recognized as a Fellow of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine for his research contributions to the field of medical rehabilitation and his service to the organization. The ACRM is a global community of both researchers and consumers of research in the field of rehabilitation.

Patty Stutz-Tanenbaum for receiving the 2018 Marjorie Ball Award of Merit, recognizing her excellent work as academic fieldwork educator for 32 years. Presented by the Occupational Therapy Association of Colorado, this award of merit is presented to an outstanding occupational therapist whose contributions have made a difference in the field of occupational therapy and specifically to the profession within Colorado. In honor of this award, she delivered the Marjorie Ball lecture at the 2019 Colorado Occupational Therapy Association Annual Conference. Read more on the SOURCE.

Haleigh Chwirka, occupational therapy ’19, for receiving the College of Health and Human Sciences Innovation Award at CSU’s Demo Day. Chwirka’s invention of the Beacon Band, a clothing modification, will aid people with cognitive and/or visual challenges to dress more independently. Read more on the SOURCE.

The Assistive Technology Resource Center for being recognized by the CSU Employee Appreciation Board for their excellent work in serving CSU students and employees with disabilities and assisting them with assistive technology and electronic accessibility needs. Read more on the SOURCE.

The Department of Occupational Therapy faculty and staff for being recognized by the CSU Employee Appreciation Board for extraordinary time and effort in developing a new entry-level professional curriculum.

Grant awards

Jaclyn Stephens for receiving a National Institutes of Health Career Development Award from the National Center of Medical Rehabilitation Research. As part of the grant, Stephens will evaluate athletes with a recent concussion who have been “cleared” to return to play. Read more on the SOURCE.

Karen Atler and Arlene Schmid for receiving an American Occupational Therapy Foundation intervention research grant, Merging Yoga, Occupational Therapy and Education in Diabetes Management (MY-OT Ed). Their long-term goal is to advance best science in occupational therapy to enable individuals to participate fully in life while successfully managing their chronic condition.

Andy Persch as principal investigator for the multi-site study, Vocational Fit Assessment and Employment Status in People with Intellectual Disabilities, which has been recently funded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Matt Malcolm and James Graham for a receiving a health services research grant from the American Occupational Therapy Foundation. The objectives of this grant, Relating Occupational Therapy Intervention Type, Outcomes, and Disparities in Acute Care, will be to identify the types and amount of occupational therapy interventions delivered, evaluate their impact on functional outcomes and discharge disposition and explore disparities in acute care hospitals’ occupational therapy service utilization.

The Department of Occupational Therapy is part of CSU’s College of Health and Human Sciences.